Customer reviews for DIR-860L

DIR-860L

The D-Link Wi-Fi AC1200 router (DIR-860L) delivers next-generation wireless speed and coverage to all your wireless devices. With Wi-Fi dual band speeds of 300 and 867Mbps, the DIR-860L avoids interference to deliver the fastest wireless speeds, improved coverage and reliable connections. The DIR-860L is ideal for gaming, streaming HD video, connecting multiple devices, and watching shows on your TV – all at the same time. The DIR-860L is also backward compatible with your existing Wi-Fi a/b/g/n devices for seamless connectivity. D-Link’s free mobile apps provide easy setup, remote monitoring and access to content from anywhere on your Smartphone or Tablet.
Overall rating:
2.615 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
4 out of 11(36%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for DIR-860L
Review 1 for DIR-860L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Product Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Range 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I turn it on, pluged the WAN and it worked!
I did some more optional configuration later, to fine tune my preferences.
ProWarranty, Easy to Use, Easy to install, Fast, Affordable, i like the design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DIR-860L
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Multiple Problems

PostedMay 21, 2014
Customer avatar
FromGeorgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Product Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Range 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DIR-860L router
Firmware: 1.08
Version: A1
Syslog: Major Issues
• Syslog does not list connected device in the dropdown menu and it does not accept IP addresses of any kind. I have 5 devices connected using DHCP, but none of my devices are listed in the dropdown on the Syslog page.
• Syslog will allow local LAN device as a Syslog Server...this does not make any sense what so ever! If you have multiple Networks, you don't need multiple syslog servers; these server can be connected behind any of you router and accept logs from all your networks. UPD port 514 can be forward anywhere on your network - that what router do.
Ghost Network: Critical vulnerability
• Ghost Network (192.168.7.0/24) listed in the Routing Table Status Page; even with all devices disconnected accept my computer (wireless), the ghost network is ping-able and trace route end at the router's LAN.
DHCP Reservations: Major Issue
• You cannot make any reservations without the new device already being connection first. You should always be able to reserve an IP address associated with a MAC without the device being connected to the network first.
Basic IPV4 Sub netting:
Router fails to calculate networks properly: I wanted to setup a small network
Net: 192.168.5.104/29
SM: 255.255.255.248
Broadcast: 192.168.5.111
The router would not allow it and required the network address to change to: 192.168.5.96 which would also change the SM to 255.255.255.240
I would not recommend this router to customer or friend until Dlink resolve these issues.
ProEasy to install, Fast
Consyslog configuration, ghost network, dhcp not userfriendly, ipv4 network calculation
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for DIR-860L
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

smart TV problem

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Dir - 860l. The big problem with smart TV. WiFi on smart tv does not work. Connect the TV cable at once everything starts to work well. TV and connected the WiFi 802.11ac and 802.11n is still not working smart tv. There are no interference, internet speed 100Mbit / s. Required to develop new firmware for smart TV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DIR-860L
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No improvement over basic Shaw modem.

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
FromVictoria, BC, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Smart T.V has to be hard wired to modem. Other wise only 2 bars. Had to restart Net Flicks a number of times, then eventually finished the movie on hard wired computer. We have Ping 28, Download speed of 25.22 and upload speed of 2.49. Second level of Shaw's High Speed internet.
ProEasy to Use, Affordable
ConSlow
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from D-Link USBy D-Link Technical SupportApril 10, 2014
We thank you for your feedback. Please note that the DIR-860L makes use of the 802.11ac protocol and that your Smart TV may not be compatible with this protocol yet as the 802.11ac protocol is fairly new (draft) and just recently recognized as a new protocol to join the wireless standards by IEEE. You may need to confirm with your Smart TV manufacturer or within the Smart TV User Manual which protocols are accepted as compatible and in use by your Smart TV. Remember, that the DIR-860L makes use of and takes the speed of your slowest link on your network and if your Smart TV uses a different routing protocol other than 802.11ac for wireless access then that may hamper your wireless connectivity speed especially if it has to compete with other devices on your network for 802.11g, 802.11n or 802.11b/a wireless connection bandwidth. Once you hard wire and plug into any one of the 4 Gigabit LAN ports then your speed will ultimately increase as you have no more interference with any other devices competing for the wireless bandwidth as your hard wired connection provides full duplex transmissions without any interference from other devices. If you need further information please visit www.dlink.com. Thank you for choosing D-Link.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for DIR-860L
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely bad Reliability and Product Quality, but good range

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
FromDenmark
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Product Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Range 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have tried multiple times to get this router working. we have tried to reset it multiple times and to install in different ways, and still after all these resets and full re-installs it still shuts it self off every 23-24 hrs and takes around 2 hrs for it be able to allocating our internet again + when it's working it's extremely slow, our 5-6 yrs old router is twice or even more as fast as this. the only pro for this router is that is has a good range, everything else about is very bad.
ConDifficult to install, Slow, Unreliable
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DIR-860L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is a good product

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
FromNotus, ID, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Did you purchase this product for a small business?Yes
What size is your business?1-10 employees
Product Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Range 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is by far a very good router. The only issue i have is when i try to upload movies it just plays sound doesnt matter the format. but very good lan connections.
What type of business do you own?tech/computer repair server center
ProEasy to Use, Easy to install, Fast, Affordable
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DIR-860L
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
FromChicago, IL, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Did you purchase this product for a small business?Yes
What size is your business?1-10 employees
Product Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Range 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used D-Link over the years and they keep getting better! I can setup a Private SSID and a Public SSID with no problems. I have used the Virtual Server feature to access my Server and workstations remotely on different Ports and that works extremely well. I have tried NetGean and LinkSys and this is by far the easiest to setup and manage.
I would reconmmend this to everybody. As with all networking products, you need to have the basic understandings. That may be why others cannot setup this or any other product correctly. But this is by far the easiest!
JMC
What type of business do you own?Consulting
ProEasy to Use, Easy to install, easy to manage
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DIR-860L
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wireless Problems

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
FromChoudrant, LA, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Product Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Range 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We are using this to strictly allow access in a remote area of our school that will provide access to our network. We have working repeatedly on this system. It is ridiculous the problems we have faced just trying to use this as an access point for a minimal number of computers, phones and ipads.
ConDifficult to install, Slow, Unreliable
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from D-Link USBy D-Link Technical SupportNovember 1, 2013
We thank you for your feedback as we do truly appreciate it and we value your input as well. It appears that based on the problem described within your review, it would be more beneficial to you for our D-Link technical support group to assist you with your issues. You may contact D-Link technical support by visiting our website at www.dlink.com/support for further troubleshooting of your issues at hand. Thank you for choosing D-Link.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for DIR-860L
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This system still has some flaws that need fixing.

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMinnesota
Product Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Range 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The dual 2.4 and 5 ghz plus wired connections is nice. However, the system seems to block local DNS from working properly when mixing wired and wireless. That means machines can't see each other by name (so no drive or folder sharing unless you manually add lines to the host table).
I also need to do a router re-boot once or twice a week or it won't allow some wireless clients to connect again.
ProAffordable
ConUnreliable
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bygossett
Minnesota
onOctober 2, 2013
I would like to update my original review.
After calling tech support two weeks ago, I was told to make one configuration change: don't use the mac address of the router. Instead, use the mac address of the main computer that is attached (using the clone button). Once I made that change the reliability has been solid. I would move that rating to a 5. The local DNS issue has still not been fixed.
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Ratings-only reviews for DIR-860L
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
1 out of 4 recommend this product